The women of Louisiana now need a 24-hour wait, to listen to the fetal or embryonic heart tones and must hear a physical description prior to abortion.
How many times will the senate have to say no before the Speaker of the House will listen?
Despite the fact that South Dakota’s three day wait has been on hold for being likely unconstitutional, Utah’s governor has signed the bill anyway.
Utah may soon be the second state to pass a law requiring a woman to wait three days before terminating a pregnancy.
A federal court this evening blocked implementation of South Dakota H.B. 1217, the law passed earlier this year that would require a woman seeking an abortion to wait at least 72 hours after first meeting her doctor before having the procedure, and to visit a “crisis pregnancy center” for a lecture based on ideology, not medical or scientific evidence.
Texas students respond to the state’s teen pregnancy rate by marching on the capitol to demand contraceptive education, a mini-roundup of the South Dakota waiting period/mandatory pro-life counseling bill, and the Oklahoma House moves to make abortion after 20 weeks a felony – for the doctor.
Oklahoma is playing the veto game for a fourth time, South Carolina is stuck in the mud on abortion, and Canada teaches the U.S. some lessons about reducing teen pregnancy.