The sole abortion clinic in Mississippi is about to become an official health provider for insurance companies, including Medicaid, meaning the clinic can soon provide covered contraception to its patients.
As we acknowledge the passage of Hyde 38 years ago this month, it is important to look at how the amendment helped to usher in a wave of anti-choice legislation that has the most detrimental impacts on poor communities of color—especially in states like Mississippi.
The complaint cites incidents dating back to 1996 in which the Jackson police detained, threatened arrest, and arrested Pro-Life Mississippi members while protesting what is today the state’s only remaining abortion clinic, the Jackson Women’s Health Organization.
On Wednesday, Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant (R) signed a bill that will ban abortion 20 weeks after a woman’s last menstrual period, or after 18 weeks’ gestation, which is two weeks earlier than most so-called 20-week abortion bans.
On Tuesday, the Mississippi legislature approved a ban on abortion at 20 weeks after a woman’s last menstrual period, with no exceptions for rape or incest, despite the fact that the state’s only abortion clinic only performs abortions up to 16 weeks.