Gov. Sam Brownback during a private ceremony Tuesday signed a bill that made his state the first in the nation to criminalize a medical procedure used after a miscarriage and during second-trimester abortions.
State lawmakers have in the past week introduced bills that would extend the state’s mandatory waiting period before an abortion and require physicians to give detailed reports on later abortions to the state.
West Virginia’s Democratic Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin on Tuesday vetoed a bill that would have outlawed abortion after 20 weeks’ gestation.
Telemedicine abortion care isn’t available in Arkansas, but a state representative told local media the law would “stop it before it starts.”
The bill targets dilation and evacuation (D and E) procedures, which may be used in a second-trimester abortion. The D and E procedure is often used when it is the safest means of preserving the life, health, and perhaps the fertility of the pregnant person.
A bill banning abortions after 20 weeks passed the South Carolina House of Representatives Wednesday in an 80-27 vote.
Republicans in Congress last week introduced three new anti-abortion bills in the House and one in the Senate, one of which would force a woman to have a medically unnecessary ultrasound before receiving abortion care.
As a provider, I will celebrate the anniversary of Roe v. Wade by discussing abortion in order to highlight just how unnecessary—and potentially dangerous—the anti-choice restrictions sweeping the country truly are for women and their families.
The house and senate versions of the bill would require that a pregnant person who is seeking a medication abortion be physically in a room with a physician when the medication is administered.
Introduced by Sen. Julie Raque Adams (R-Louisville), SB 4 would require women seeking to terminate a pregnancy to complete state-mandate counseling in person at least 24 hours before an abortion can be performed.