“I have no more confidence in Planned Parenthood than I do in Adolf Hitler,” said state Sen. Mike Fair in response to a new poll showing public support for legal abortion after 20 weeks of pregnancy.
On Tuesday, the Mississippi legislature approved a ban on abortion at 20 weeks after a woman’s last menstrual period, with no exceptions for rape or incest, despite the fact that the state’s only abortion clinic only performs abortions up to 16 weeks.
The decision acknowledged that while there is “substantial” evidence to question the state’s motive in passing an admitting privileges law under the guise of maternal health, a trial is still necessary to determine if the law is constitutional.
No state has seen as many anti-choice bills introduced this year as Missouri, where Republican lawmakers are simultaneously resisting an expansion of Medicaid that could improve health outcomes for hundreds of thousands of residents.
According to the Associated Press, the Susan B. Anthony List’s political action committee plans to spend around $10 million on this election.
As West Virginia’s governor considers whether to sign that state’s new 20-week abortion ban, he might also consider how the work of discredited doctor Byron Calhoun influenced the bill’s passage.
As expected, a bill banning most abortions in Colorado was killed in the state legislature Tuesday. The state house majority leader, a Democrat, called the Republican house majority leader’s sponsorship of the anti-choice legislation a move to “pander to the right wing of their party.”
The latest wave of clinic closures in Texas illustrates how absurd judging abortion restrictions under the “undue burden” test has become.
After six hours of, at times, heated and racially charged debate Tuesday, the Alabama house passed four bills restricting abortion, the most severe of which would ban abortion after a fetal heartbeat is detected and with no exceptions for rape or incest.
The West Virginia House of Delegates Tuesday night passed a controversial bill that would ban abortions after 20 weeks of pregnancy in the state.