State Sen. David Sater filed SB 519, which would increase the state’s current 24-hour waiting period for women seeking an abortion to 72 hours, while state Rep. Ron Hicks filed HB 1148, which would make ultrasounds 24 hours prior to an abortion mandatory.
It is now up to the governor to sign or veto the bill. Does he really want to pay for another court challenge?
When legislatures write laws to enforce other laws that the courts have blocked, you know they really just want to ban abortion any way they can.
Why does South Dakota’s new waiting period not include weekends? Because God.
Sorry, folks, weekends and holidays don’t apply.
If the law goes into effect, it will be the nation’s longest waiting period, and other states will be likely to follow suit.
Despite the fact that South Dakota’s three day wait has been on hold for being likely unconstitutional, Utah’s governor has signed the bill anyway.
Utah’s new three day abortion wait isn’t law yet, and pressure is on the governor to make sure it never is.
The governor has requested an additional $1 million be added to the legal budget.
The state attorney general has decided not to appeal the injunction while the case is waiting to be heard in court.