If Texas’ omnibus anti-abortion law was in effect back in 2001 and in 2006, I wouldn’t still be childfree. I wouldn’t have gotten married. I wouldn’t have bought my house. Basically, my life would be completely different.
Access to reproductive health-care services in Louisiana is limited. There are only five clinics that provide abortion care in the state—and that number is soon expected to fall to two once a new law signed by Republican Gov. Bobby Jindal goes into effect.
Modeled after a Texas law that was signed last summer, HB 388 requires abortion providers to obtain admitting privileges at a hospital within 30 miles of the clinic where they perform abortions, imposes a forced 24-hour waiting period on surgical abortions, and reduces the number of abortions a doctor must perform in a given year to be considered an abortion provider.
There isn’t a looming reproductive health-care crisis in the South. It has already arrived.
One bill would ban abortion providers from teaching sex education in public schools, while the other would require women seeking an abortion to receive information written by the state about the alleged mental health risks associated with the procedure.
Without any debate, the Louisiana House of Representatives passed a bill Wednesday that would impose regulations aimed at severely limiting access to abortion. It is expected to be signed by Gov. Bobby Jindal.
The Louisiana Senate passed a bill Wednesday that would impose regulations on abortion providers, severely limiting access to abortion services in the state by closing at least three of the state’s five abortion clinics.
Reproductive rights advocates at the committee hearing told RH Reality Check that once HB 388 opponents began to testify, most of the committee members left the room.
The Alabama state legislature gave final approval on Wednesday to a bill that would extend the waiting period for having an abortion from 24 to 48 hours, and three other anti-choice bills could see a senate floor vote before close of session Thursday.
HB 388 would require abortion providers to obtain admitting privileges at a hospital within 30 miles of the clinic where they provide abortions, impose a 24-hour waiting period on surgical abortions, and require physicians to register with the state if they perform just five abortions within a year.