The Ohio Senate on Wednesday approved a ban on abortion after 20 weeks’ gestation only hours after it went through committee.
“I can promise you a debate in 2015, and a vote,” Graham said at a press conference Thursday.
When Rep. Matt Schaefer stands on the floor of the Texas House of Representatives and says things like, “We should value what God values, and that’s the life of the unborn,” I wonder how he knows what God values.
South Carolina lawmakers, in their first opportunity to pre-file bills ahead of the 2015-2016 legislative session, last week submitted at least eight anti-choice bills to be taken up next year, featuring an array of radical abortion restrictions pushed by anti-choice legislators across the country.
For a woman like “Maria,” a representative 26-year-old living in Texas’ Rio Grande Valley, obtaining a legal abortion procedure will now cost more than a month’s wages, not to mention considerable lost time. The car ride alone will take her about seven hours—a trip you can experience yourself in the following videos.
A new poll in West Virginia indicates that conservatives in the state legislature might be out of touch with voters when it comes to reproductive rights.
Sullivan now faces incumbent Democratic Sen. Mark Begich, who has said that Sullivan has “positions on women’s health that are truly frightening.” The race will likely play an important role in Republicans’ efforts to regain control of the U.S. Senate this November.
The Louisiana legislature passed a bill that requires physicians to keep brain-dead women who are pregnant on mechanical support if the physician determines there is a chance the fetus is viable.
Until now, attempts to track the legislative journey that ultimately led to the passage of one of the most restrictive anti-choice laws in the country would have been a daunting task. With the launch of RH Reality Check’s interactive database, however, a picture of the long road to HB 2 begins to emerge.
On Tuesday, the Mississippi legislature approved a ban on abortion at 20 weeks after a woman’s last menstrual period, with no exceptions for rape or incest, despite the fact that the state’s only abortion clinic only performs abortions up to 16 weeks.